Meet the Team

Get to Know Us: Behind the Scenes at DEFL

At Drive Electric Florida, we are not just a team; we are a community of individuals committed to propelling the electric vehicle revolution forward. Together, we are steering the charge towards a sustainable and electrifying future.

Board of Directors

Kenneth Hernandez

Kenneth Hernandez, Chair

As the visionary Chair of Drive Electric Florida, Kenneth Hernandez brings invaluable expertise from his role at TECO Energy. With a keen eye on the horizon, Kenneth leads the Board with a commitment to advancing clean energy solutions.
Jennifer Szaro

Jennifer Szaro, Vice-Chair

Jennifer Szaro, Vice Chair and a vibrant force behind Drive Electric Florida, serves as the Vice President of the Association of Energy Services Professionals (AESP). Her strategic thinking and industry insights adeptly steer the organization's mission in a manner that leaves a lasting and influential impact.
John Cohen

John Cohen, Secretary

Josh Cohen, our meticulous Secretary, hails from SWTCH, an end-to-end EV charging and energy management solution Justin ensures our organization runs smoothly, with a focus on the details that keep Drive Electric Florida at the forefront of sustainable transportation.
Alisha Lopez

Alisha Lopez, Treasurer

Alisha Lopez, the financial backbone of Drive Electric Florida, takes on the role of Treasurer. Drawing from her experience at the Southeast Florida Clean Cities Coalition, Alisha expertly manages our financial resources, ensuring a solid foundation for our initiatives.
  • Brooke Alexander

    Sierra Club Florida

  • Anuj Chokshi

    Florida Power & Light

  • Bruce Edelston

    Alliance for Transportation Electrification

  • Loyd Graves

    Duke Energy

  • Dory Larsen

    Southern Alliance for Clean Energy (SACE)

  • Peter Westlake

    Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC)

  • Matthew Chen

    Blink Charging


Policy Committee

Policy Committee

Outside of Drive Electric Florida’s Board of Directors, this committee will engage most directly with the EV Roadmap processed forth in SB7018, as well as developing other recommendations necessary to facilitate local ordinance adoption, draft legislation, and regulatory proposals that advance electrification.

Chair: Bruce Edelston, Alliance for Transportation Electrification

Co-Chair: Matthew Chen, Blink Charging

Infrastructure Committee

Infrastructure Committee

This Committee will focus on ensuring the successful deployment of electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) by identifying best practices related to project development and execution. Specifically, the group will identify both barriers and opportunities in areas such as project financing and incentive or grant opportunities, site selection, permitting, utility distribution planning, supply chain issues, interconnection processes, site commissioning, ongoing operations and maintenance of both light duty and MHD EVSE units.

Chair: Alisha Lopez, Southeast Florida Clean Cities Coalition

Co-Chair: Brad Davis, Kimley-Horn

The Education, Equity and Outreach committee

Education, Equity and Outreach Committee

The Education, Equity and Outreach committee will focus primarily on educating various stakeholders across the state, as well as developing and implementing programmatic considerations for Drive Electric Florida to sponsor or partner on, such as Ride and Drives. The committee will also conduct outreach to, and engage with under-exposed populations, commercial partners, state and local elected officials, transit authorities, and regional planning councils to set reasonable goals, facilitate fleet conversion, and promote electrification. The equity components will focus on policies that ensure the benefits of electrification are shared broadly throughout society, particularly for low income and fixed-income residents of Florida. Additionally, the committee will identify inclusive strategies for utilities, regulators and state and local policymakers to consider as Florida matures as a market for electric transportation. There may be a possible communications component to develop and amplify Drive Electric Florida’s messaging.

Chair: Dory Larsen, Southern Alliance for Clean Energy

Co-Chair: Jason Gaschel, Florida Power and Light



Sydney Timm, Association Executive

Sydney Timm heads up our day-to-day operations, ensuring that Drive Electric Florida operates smoothly. For any inquiries or collaboration opportunities, feel free to reach out to Sydney via email.